The Tain - I want to help enter data.

Talk about anything here.
Industry

Post by Industry »

This is a post for Magma members. I want to help enter data into the Tain. I have written a script that will generate a nice description and summary report of a Plugin, similar to the reports once seen on The Mill. I am not an artist so it not a nice looking html page its just the data. If I get a sample page from The Tain and more of the plugins I can generate an accurate page full of description for all of them.
Yes, that's right, I said all of them.
ChrisP

Post by ChrisP »

That would be great, hope it works out.

The people you want to talk to are Infininight and Gholsbane. In case they don't reply here, their emails are in the "about us" section of this site.
TopGunZ

Post by TopGunZ »

Cool! All of them? Thats a lot of work. :0
"I tried sniffing coke once, but the ice cubes stuck in my nose"
The Elfoid

Post by The Elfoid »

I can submit reviews, if that's going to be allowed. Would it be best for me to wait for the Tain.org to open or for me to e-mail a s*** load of them now?
Oroboros

Post by Oroboros »

Industry wrote:I want to help enter data into the Tain. I have written a script that will generate a nice description and summary report of a Plugin, similar to the reports once seen on The Mill.

Hi Industry,

Around about February this year I wrote a Perl script that did the lion's share of Mill-parsing - That is, turning 2100-odd HTML Mill pages into Tain-approved XML. The program, MillGrinder, took two days to write, and about 15mins to execute.

I haven't been in contact with either Inf or GB for sometime. I believe Tain development has stalled.

The problem (at the beginning) seems to be one of perfectionism. Inf and GB want(ed) to get everything 'just right'. At the time I expressed concerns that the amount of detail they were going into didn't even come close to the simple, "meat n' potatoes" demands the average Myth punter would want.