Affecting Projectiles in Loathing - Was trying to make a sachel explode..

A forum for discussing map making ideas and problems for the Myth series.
ShadowWraith

Post by ShadowWraith »

In Loathing, how do you affect projectiles. I was trying to make it so that when a TUNI returned true, a sachel charge would explode. Is there any way to do this? If so how. Also, is there a way to target a projectile that doesn't yet exist like a sachel that a dwarf starts off carrying? I was able to make it so that various units died but couldn't figure out how to tell a projectile to do something.
Thanks!
~Wraith
A-Red

Post by A-Red »

I am pretty certain that there is no map action for this. There is an Object Control action, but all it does is make projectiles appear. Rather than trying to script satchels to detonate, you could have some sort of invisible projectile that detonates explosives, so that when you activate it the satchels will go off. I've never done anything like that before, but i'm sure it's possible. I don't know whether you can just place the projectile or if you need an invisible monster to shoot it (like the one that kills Soulblighter in The Forge).

A-Red
lank

Post by lank »

you could have various actions like a geom looking for an object and then putting its location into a blank action which is then fed to an attack for a monster (the way shiver will target satchels when she's too close to them in the level named after her). you can also test for when your target dwarf has dropped x satchels and most likely target the one he just dropped.

nothing as easy as you'd like, but there are plenty of ways to do clever things in myth.
*toot*
ShadowWraith

Post by ShadowWraith »

er.. I don't think I completely understand, I just started with Loathing. So.. ur saying I should make an invisible monster that will target the sachel with an invisible(?) attack? So an invisible dwarf would throw a molotov at the sachel making it look like it blew up on its own?