Project Magma on iPad

Talk about anything here.
GKokoris

Project Magma on iPad

Post by GKokoris »

Hey guys. I know it must look a bit disingenuous that I created an account on this forum just to post this topic, but I figured you all would be the most knowledgeable on the subject.

The short version: I would like to make an honest attempt at porting Myth II / Project Magma to the iPad.

The long version: I'm a game developer looking for a passion project while my colleagues work on the nuts and bolts of our indie startup (as an engineer, I'm hopelessly inept at business and would be no help at all). A few days ago we had a conversation about Ubisoft's multitouch-enabled PC strategy game R.U.S.E. and our sneaking suspicion that it may have been developed for the wrong platform. The first legitimate RTS on the iPad, we concluded, could stand to be a phenomenal success.

Dyed-in-the-wool Bungie fanboy that I am, my thoughts immediately went to Myth II. Since it's a game about tactics and doesn't rely on the compulsive multitasking and resource management found in a regular RTS, it's actually a pretty good fit for a touch-only device. I figured it would be the ideal project to sink my teeth into. When I found that, unlike Aleph One, Myth II isn't actually open source, I decided to come here and appeal to the Gatekeepers of the Code(x). :wink:

I imagine this is something at least some people would want, considering someone's already tried to pull a fast one on here. Couple of things I am aware of, however:

1. I don't know how this would work legally, exactly. Presumably, I would need to get permission from Take Two or whoever owns the intellectual property rights, not to mention porting rights from Frank C. Earl (about whom I'm afraid I know almost nothing).