Newish player to Myth II - Really great game!

Talk about anything here.
darkhorse

Newish player to Myth II - Really great game!

Post by darkhorse »

Excuse the ignorance of some of these questions. I am relatively new to this game, just getting hold of a copy. My only exposure to this game was a demo of myth II about 10 years ago, which I remembered enjoying a lot. So picked up a erm… version recently.

Very different to any strategy game I have played before, and honestly much more fun than the Civilization type games. Just working through the very satisfying single player campaign at the moment, about half way through, so far from an expert yet. Can see how it holds its interest though, and why it would have such a following.

Some questions …

• Are myth 1 and 3 worth getting hold of as well? I heard that myth 3 is not as popular as myth 2, and it was made by a different company. But why was it such a failure? is it some playability factor?

• I am not a very good player yet, and have found that I play most of the game at half speed, pausing and saving all the time. Is this normal, or am I just rubbish?

• How can online play work when there is only the myth 2 app?
Pyro
Bug Finder Extraordinaire

Re: Newish player to Myth II - Really great game!

Post by Pyro »

Myth 1 (aka TFL), is definitely worth getting. At the very least, you can download the Myth2 plugin version of it and run it under Myth2, since TFL hasn't gotten updated in a long time and might not work properly in all systems. Here is the TFL campaign for Myth2 plugin. Many think the TFL storyline is better than the M2 storyline. Either way, both are must haves.

As for Myth3, it might be worth trying, but as you said a lot of people don't really like it like the first two. The storyline, the art, the blocky 3D units, etc are various reasons why it simply isn't the same as the first two.