AW Beta Released! - It sure is.

Talk about anything here.
Cubic Circle

Post by Cubic Circle »

The beta comes with a crappy singleplayer level and a not so crappy multiplayer.
Mapmaking I am not good at.
Also included is the AW themesong! ^_^

Please post feedback.

Now try it, would you not?

This link, it is...

http://www.squalorbase.com/aw/
You will need stuffit expander.
Jinsei wa geemu da
Phex

Post by Phex »

I tested you plugin.

I really like your unit composition, its very funny to play arround with these little guys. The flavor texts are so funny! Really good work! :-) I think you could work on the explosions a bit, they dont seem to fit into the style of the other units. However the blood squirting out of the dying bodies is awesome! So is the space laser beam attack of the infantry commander and the suicide robot :-)
Nevertheless its not really clear what all the units are made for: what are these green dots the support units lay down supposed to be? What can these AGRO drones do except from floating arround? What are colour guards able to do? And why do the stormtrooopers look like officers? A unit description would be helpful... (I would also be interested in the background story of your conversion, if there is any).
I also miss headshot pictures ... :-(
To sum it up, the overall impression of your units is very good and unique, it plays a bit like Z.
On the other hand, you maps are very boring - sorry to say that - but there are only about 5 colors and most areas are flat and without any scenery. Add a lot more of your nice little trees and barrels, make some rivers, streets (with your nice little laterns), or impassiable hills, ambient life, maybe retextured models - whatever, just anything to make it look like something that is fun to fight on. Btw, the overhead map does not tell anything about the terrain, which can be confusing.